Now you can send auto-expiring emails from Gmail on your mobile

Delia Walker
August 19, 2018

We first learned about Google's new "confidential mode" for Gmail back in April: a feature to help users better protect sensitive information they send to their contacts.

But now the feature has made its way to mobile with both Android and iOS apps receiving an update. Notably, Google added a lot of features to the new Gmail some of which included Snooze, smart reply and many more.


Gmail users on Android have just been given access to a brand new feature that will allow them to send messages and attachments in the most secure manner. If you're now not seeing the new option in your Gmail, it means you might have to wait a few days.

Similar to what Telegram introduced years ago, Gmail users can now set a self-destruct timer for a defined period on all outgoing emails. If you choose " No SMS passcode", those using the Gmail app will be able to open your message/attachment directly, while those who don't have a Gmail account will get emailed a passcode.


If they want to turn confidential mode on they should press the button in the top right-hand corner that is shaped like a stack of three bullet points. You will see an option to remove access, just tap on that, and the recipient will no longer be able to access the file.

Users can view instructions for sending confidential messages, revoking access early, and opening emails sent with confidential message at a Google support page. Ensure you enter the recipients phone number not of your own. If you have the update app, open it and tap on Compose icon on the bottom right. I sent an email to myself with confidential mode, the attachment was a photo.


Other reports by

Discuss This Article

FOLLOW OUR NEWSPAPER