Bharatiya Janata Party Releases a List of 72 Candidates for Karnataka Elections

Glen Norman
April 11, 2018

The BJP recently the first list of 72 candidates who will contest the high stakes Karnataka assembly polls.

The list, finalised by the BJP top braass, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party President Amit Sha, was announced by the Central Election Committee. While the Congress has picked incumbent Chief Minister Siddaramaiah as its CM face, the BJP has nominated former CM B S Yeddyurappa.

Venugopal also said: "Now, the screening committee meetings are going on and any list regarding the same will be released only after the Central Election Committee meeting".

The Karnataka Congress on Tuesday had alerted that a fake list of candidates of the Indian National Congress for the forthcoming assembly elections in the state is being diffused on the social media. The names of remaining candidates are likely to be announced soon. Party sources said that the idea to let Siddaramaiah fight from Badami is to strengthen the Congress prospects in North Karnataka. "Members of the community can identify themselves with any party or leader but they cannot extend their support to a party on behalf of the entire community", Mr Puttabudhdhi said. He found mention in the first list of candidates, with the BJP fielding him from Alzalpur constituency. The 224-member Assembly expires on May 28 in the state where the Congress is now in power, with 122 seats against the BJP's 43. Many other BJP strong leaders such as KS Eshwarappa (Shivamogga), Basavaraj Bommai (Shiggaon) and B Sriramulu (Molakalmuru) have also been named in the list.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article