Andhra Pradesh special status: TDP MPs detained for protesting outside PM's residence

Glen Norman
April 9, 2018

Sloganeering with placards in hands, the TDP MPs staged a sit-in protest near 7 Lok Kalyan Marg, Prime Minister Narendra Modi's residence earlier in the day.

Posting several images on Twitter from Tughlak Road Police Station in New Delhi, Kejriwal condemned the MPs' detention, saying, "I went and met them at the police station in solidarity".

The drama ended when they were forcibly marshaled out of Parliament around 8:15 pm after a nod from the offices of RS Chairman M Venkaiah Naidu and LS Speaker Sumitra Mahajan. "We are sad over the manner in which both the houses are conducted", TDP's Rajya Sabha MP Y S Chowdary said.

"The prime minister is the person to take decisions on SCS (special category status)".

"The MPs who were protesting have been taken into preventive custody". They were forcefully removed. "We condemn their detention and fully support demand for special status of Andhra Pradesh", Kejriwal said after meeting the leaders.

While TDP pulled out of the BJP-led NDA alliance, YSR Congress Party MPs have been on an indefinite hunger strike for more than 40 hours now, demanding special demanding special category status for Andhra Pradesh. The two leaders also discussed the special category status promised to Andhra Pradesh.

However, TDP supremo and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu hinted that unlike the YSRCP, his party MPs would not resign.

The TDP chief accused the Central government of working with an oppressive mentality. West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee had held a meeting with the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) chief in Delhi last month in order to bolster support for a third front.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article