AIMIM to support TRS in Telangana in biennial elections to RS

Glen Norman
March 14, 2018

Voting, if needed, will be held on 23 March. He briefly led the state at the head of the Shiv Sena-BJP government in 1999, and then served as cabinet minister in the Congress-NCP government after leaving his old party.

The sixth candidate is educationist Ashfaq Karim, also from the RJD, who runs a medical college in Katihar. Veerendra Kumar's term would have expired in April 2022.

In Maharashtra, where its age-old alliance with the Shiv Sena looks to be all but over, the party has chose to support former chief minister Narayan Rane. It includes Kumar Ketkar, a Mumbai-based journalist and a columnist of ThePrint, from Maharashtra.

Among the candidates from UP, prominent is Ashok Bajpai. The party has 122 members in the 225 member Assembly. Agarwal joined the BJP on Monday.

According to an announcement by the BJP general secretary J P Nadda here on Sunday, Mr Rane, a former Sena leader and who was also with Congress since 2005, will be BJP candidate from Maharashtra. That way, BJP can win one more seat, defeating Congress's candidate, Mr Ketkar. Muraleedharan's nomination could please the Ezhavas, who represent a significant section of Hindus in Kerala. BJP general secretary Bhupendra Yadav is contesting from Rajasthan.

Union finance minister Arun Jaitley on Monday filed his nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha election from Uttar Pradesh. Both the parties are in a position to send two candidates each to the Rajya Sabha, as the minimum number of votes required per candidate is 38.

Talking to mediapersons, union petroleum and natural gas minister Dharmendra Pradhan said Madhya Pradesh is the laboratory of public welfare programmes where they are conceived and enforced first. Sources said the nominee could be former MP Akhilesh Singh. One of its leaders PK Valera has filed his nomination as an independent candidatewith the support of some CongressMLAs. The Nationalist Congress Party's 41 votes will be good enough for its candidate Vandana Chavan.

In Jharkhand, the JMM has already announced its decision to support the Congress nominee. Hussain is a Congress spokesperson. He further added that the AB form which the candidate submits with nomination form carries his signature as State President. There seems to be a fight between Congress's third candidate and Farooq. However, with no choice left, the JD (S) now makes a plan forward, to get ahead with the political game.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article