Narayan Rane gets BJP support for Rajya Sabha polls from Maharashtra

Glen Norman
March 12, 2018

Elections to the five Rajya Sabha seats from the state became necessary as the terms of Kunal Ghosh, Bibek Gupta and Nadimul Haque of the TMC and Tapan Sen of CPI-M will end on April 2.

With appeals from the State BJP leadership to field a Kannadiga, the BJP top brass is likely to name Shivamogga district BJP President Rudregowda for the seat later today.

The last date for filing nominations for 58 Rajya Sabha seats is March 12, while the last date of withdrawal is March 15.

Mumbai: With an eye on the upcoming state polls, the BJP on Sunday announced its 18 candidates, including former Maharashtra chief minister Narayan Rane and several of its central office bearers, for the Rajya Sabha's biennial elections. In return, Congress will support the BSP candidate from Uttar Pradesh. The ruling TRS has the numbers to get all three of its nominees elected.

Ajay Pratap Singh and Kailash Soni will contest from Madhya Pradesh while Narayana Rane and V Muralidharan will represent Maharashtra.

The Congress list of 10 candidates Sunday includes veteran journalist Kumar Ketkar from Maharashtra, and former Union minister Naranbhai Ratwa and the party's familiar television face Amee Yajnik from Gujarat. As for the Karnataka lone seat for the BJP it has gone to media baron Rajeev Chandrasekhar this time who has reportedly opted to join the party instead of being an independent MP.

Chandrashekhar Rao sent a clear message to the party cadre by nominating the leaders who worked for strengthening the party without seeking any posts.

"Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee (HPCC) has chose to not to field any candidate against Nadda in RajyaSabha election, scheduled to be held on 23 March", party spokesperson Sanjay Chauhan said. Other candidates from Uttar Pradesh are Ashok Bajpai, Vijay Pal Singh Tomar, Sakal Deep Rajbhar, Kanta Kardam, Dr Anil Jain and Harnath Singh Yadav.

Congress RS nominee from Maharashtra is Kumar Ketkar.

Other reports by

Discuss This Article